In Favor of a Powerful Re-Telling of the Conservative Story

I rarely write about politics; I often feel too ignorant to comment intelligently and I’m not enough of a true believer in any particular issue, party, or ideology to write very passionately (more on this below). But there are nevertheless some things I happen to feel strongly about in the wake of this election.

Until 2008 I had always been more or less of a political agnostic. I was raised in a staunchly conservative home and I accepted conservative ideas about society and government but I was never particularly passionate about conservatism. Or any other -ism. But in 2008 I was living in southern California when Proposition 8 was born and set loose. I won’t detail that particular story here but the experiences (none of them pleasant) surrounding my involvement in Prop 8 led to my gradual journey in a leftward direction.

Nevertheless, I never became, and don’t stand now, as a “true believer” in specific issues and causes. By true believer I mean one who is firmly grounded in the reality of a particular view or issue such that substantial doubt in those views or issues is not a factor. True believers might tinker with how to communicate their beliefs or even smooth out rough edges of beliefs if so inclined. But true believers aren’t wishy-washy about their beliefs. True believers campaign and organize and raise money and try to persuade and generally do the work that moves politics in particular directions. Nevertheless, that is not to say that I have remained a political agnostic. I care about certain issues now, some more than others, though I continue to be generally un-dazzled by political figures from any party. For me, I’m in pretty constant flux about how firmly to accept the various interpretations of complex political issues, or how firmly to stick with my own interpretations. I long to believe, and it’s likely the case that many are like me, though I suspect there are ultimately more true believers than unsettled adherents like myself (or maybe true believers are just louder and therefore more seemingly omni-present).

On one particular point, though, I remain thoroughly convinced: we are not the architect of our beliefs, political or otherwise. Our family, friends, ethnicity, language, culture, religion, all contribute to the complex makeup of our beliefs. Our beliefs provide us with a map of how to see the world, a map we didn’t draw ourselves. I cannot force myself into belief or conversion. Rather, these happen to me, in me, through me, in ways I don’t overtly or consciously choose. I might be able to see the general rationality of an opposing belief, but I cannot will myself into intellectual compliance with it. Any permeability associated with beliefs is a matter of elements that overtake us and make us see the world in particular ways, not because I had the power to simply pick up or discard beliefs at will. Any choice of beliefs is grounded in contexts not of our own making, whether I fervently defend current beliefs or am leaving old ways of believing behind for new ones. That which we find persuasive we also find irresistible. Otherwise genuine persuasion is not possible. We are lured, enticed, seduced by the logic behind what we believe.

If this is true, as I believe it is, where does it leave us? Are we hopelessly resigned to the stubborn immovability of what we believe? Have we no choice in the end but to throw stones at the the other side, use whatever tactic might be necessary to silence those who do not believe as we do and be forever at war? Quite the opposite. In fact, realization of the brute “thereness” of what we believe frees us to not have to worry ourselves over what is true; these events that constitute the life forms of our beliefs are irrevocably there and they aren’t going anywhere. We have to reckon with them, and any kind of free decision is only possible in two ways: the strength or measure of our fidelity to these truths and the stories we tell about them. We can construct the most intelligent, persuasive, logically defensible, and humanly heartfelt interpretation of that which we hold dear. in this way we both reveal our fidelity to that which we hold to be true and at the same time engage in the hard narratological work of making these things true through the stories we tell about them. This is precisely what didn’t happen with the Republican party this election.

Not being a conservative myself, I will no doubt be accused of not knowing what I am talking about. But something momentous happened this election cycle and it wasn’t because the country abandoned all conservative values wholesale or because there was a miraculous mass liberal conversion. It seems to me to be very apparent that over the last several years conservatives have allowed the conservative narrative to be shaped by extreme elements of the party so that the story, the mythology of conservatism–so vital to the advancement of any person or institution in any kind of community–was diminished until only extreme factions that identified with the party would resonate with it. The story of conservatism that mythologizes universal human goods like cultural and religions traditions, an individualism that recognizes communal bonds, freedom for all people to realize and enact their own traditions and individualities seemed to be swallowed up in hyper rhetoric about the size of government, unpopular an extreme social positions, the hampering of people to become wealthy and the wealthy to become wealthier, xenophobia regarding immigrants, etc. Presumably, the obscured core of all of these extreme positions could be re-narrativized and re-mythologized in order to tell the story of a conservatism that is truly universal in some way. i happen to be more persuaded by a universalism (meaning that which attempts to account for all peoples) that is more resonant with communalism and communities, but if there is a more universal way of telling the stories of conservative principles then I want to see this happen. We are all going to be better off for it–the language of political leaders or leaders-to-be will be far more grounded in universality and common vision. That’s not to say that those on the Left have a perfect story that flawlessly mythologizes their particular beliefs. There is much room for improvement there as well, so that that kind of mythology does not, for example, fall off a cliff of relativism or outright disdain for religion. But there is no doubt that the Left side of the political spectrum has penned a story that has spoken to the hearts of a majority of Americans. It is how we tell our stories that will ultimately serve to demonstrate our fidelity to our beliefs and make them something o e seriously reckoned with. It’s incumbent upon us to tell these stories as creatively, inclusively, and powerfully as possible. Such re-tellings will force us to constantly improve upon and re-fashion all stories so that we get the most and the best of the visions that shape our lives. We’ll live in a better, more united, and thoughtful America when that happens.

8 Comments

Filed under theology

8 responses to “In Favor of a Powerful Re-Telling of the Conservative Story

  1. Calvin Baker

    There comes a time in everyone’s life when he or she has to recognize that the intellectual aspect of their beliefs have a spiritual side. I cannot explain why I believe some things with a logical explanation, but the Spirit whispers they are true. My ideology is not completely represented by one political party or another. What I accept as true and as what the Lord expects will never be what the masses accept or even consider rational. I have been taught, whether right or wrong, that the majority of the people eventually reject righteousness. I tried to bring my children up understanding the promptings of the Spirit, to love one another, to know that I love them unconditionally and to think for themselves. I believe they do that…all of them. When I choose a political candidate or party I do so based on my values, not on my pocketbook. I choose on which party will be best for my grandchildren…my children are grown and can fend for themselves. I choose the way the Spirit leads me, I am careful and prayerful and I study things out in my mind like instructed by the Lord in Doctrine and Covenants. I don’t expect the “world” to understand that. In fact, I expect the world to scorn that, to make fun of that, to ridicule that, to accuse me of being an emotional being not a rational one. I prefer the label of a spiritual being. I admire your ability to think and rationalize. My hope is that you continue to cultivate your spiritual side as much as you do your academic side. Life is full of choices. When I witnessed the democratic party vote to remove God from their platform, my choice became clear. No, I do not believe conservatives have all the right answers, but they more closely align with my beliefs and values.

  2. Jacob

    We’re basically in agreement here. But I see no problem in saying that conservatism informs your worldview (and that Mormonism also does as well of course). Ad I said above, our worldviews are just what make sense to us, and we didn’t decide the sense on our own. We just find ourselves compelled by these beliefs. My only plea has been to tell the best stories we can about these beliefs.

    As far as cultivation of my “spiritual side” is concerned, anyone who has read my writings knows how serious I am about spirituality. Most of my blogging is an exploration of serious spirituality.

  3. Very insightful, Jacob — thanks.

  4. Promotional Calculators produce great promotional merchandise.

    Objectives should contain precise statements of intent in terms from the business growth and profits that may accrue as a result in the marketing
    plan being implemented. This can often mean that when they place their order plus
    the final price is calculated they could end up groing
    through the budget they had set – Men will frequently view gifts as
    means towards an expected goal while women look at the same
    gift being an item by having an emotional meaning.

  5. Phillip

    I appreciate the tone of your writing, it’s honest and communicates integrity. I’m not sure if I read you right on this post. You seem to say our beliefs are deterministic based on the inputs you listed (family, friends, ethnicity, etc.) You seem to allude to it later but aren’t we free to interpret those inputs with a variety of methods? Maybe we change our methods of interpretation based on what we experience (inputs) but we have to interpret the experience first. We can also decide to let God change our hearts which will change how we interpret experiences but again we have to let that happen. I do understand that it’s difficult to change someone else’s belief’s because they are the result of a large amount of experiences and interpretations. A concise logical argument just doesn’t weigh as much. The Spirit on the other hand can be quite a heavy experience though! I’m rambling, thanks for the post.

  6. Hi there! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to
    give a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading
    your blog posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that cover
    the same topics? Appreciate it!

  7. Spot on with this write-up, I actually think this web site wants way more
    consideration. I’ll most likely be again to read much more, thanks for that
    info.

  8. Hi, I do think this is a great site. I stumbledupon it ;) I may come back yet again since I bookmarked it.

    Money and freedom is the greatest way to change,
    may you be rich and continue to help other
    people.

    michael kors bags

Leave a Reply

